Our biggest influence… ourselves?

31 Jan

Today I took an interesting trip to the dentist. Now if you are like me, I am not freaked out by the dentist except for the little pick, scraping tool. It’s not the feelings behind it, it’s the SOUND! That screeching sound is like nails on a chalk board to me!

Every time I hear that scraping sound I SQUEEZE and white knuckle the leather armrests of that chair that sits below that Belmont light that much tighter. Today as my hands and forearms start to stick to the chair from the sweat that is oozing out of my pores, I realized that WE are our own biggest influences.

I know this sounds weird to some of you and may register right away to some others but think about it. We dictate our own outlook on every situaton we come across. Whether something is difficult or easy, it is the way we precieve it, it is our mind set.

Even Henry Ford said decades ago, “Whether you think you can or your can’t, either way you’re right.” This could not be more true today.

I used to think doctors, as a group, had the biggest influence on people. If someone was just diagnosed with a terminal disease, doesn’t the doctor usually say, “I give them ___ months to live.” These are just merely suggestions given to someone in a highly suggestable and emototional state of mind.

Who are they to say how long someone will live? We see survivors everyday and I bet none of them had the attitude, well… yeah, I should get over this… probably. It is the survivor’s mind set that will dictate the attitude.

On a more positive note, one way you can help others by influencing them, without them knowing it in a non-magical way if they are feeling down, is to NEVER ask the questions:
“Why are you so sad?”
“Why are you so down?”

The reason this will trigger a worse feeling in that person’s mindset because when you use the word WHY you are secretly asking them to justify their state of being. Whether or not their aware of it, you are cementing WHY they feel down. This will confirm to them how bad they feel and give them an excuse to feel that way.

Instead ask them, “What can I do to cheer you up?” or make them laugh or even make them see something different and fascinate their conscious mind and critical faculty with something like a magic trick or puzzle to get their mind off of whatever is bringing them down.

Leave a Reply

