Entertainment vs safety

3 Feb

Recently I have been on the look out for new types of hypnotic inductions. Although the ones in the past have worked fine, as they are classics, I feel as  a constant student of hypnosis you can always learn and push the limits with hypnosis and never reach an end.

To be honest I feel as though they are not 100% with everyone and I am OK with that. I have heard EVERYONE is hypnotizable but the METHODS vary from person to person. If you think about it, everyone goes into trance multiple times a day. Don’t believe me, look around your office or library and see people dozing in and out… but don’t laugh! Better yet, have you ever driven somewhere and when you get there… don’t remember driving there??? You were in a “driving trance”.

As an entertainer I am concerned with how it looks to the audience. I have seen many hypnotists do crazy phenomenon that I am not convinced is worth the risk. To give you an example, there is an induction called Zap. Now this induction works but at a steep price in my opinion. No I’m not saying because it is $150+ dollars but because of the audience management.

I have seen many performers not do the proper pre talk. By that I mean they do not fully describe hypnosis to the subject or see if they are 18 years or older or ask if they have any medical conditions. These seem like simple things but can make a world of difference, especially if you don’t want to get sued!

I personally don’t hypnotize people under the age of 18 (unless their guardian is right there next to us the whole time) and I always make sure they don’t have a serious medical condition or better yet, ask before I do something that could be even remotely strenuis.

In the induction mentioned above, Zap, it is done with an arm pull technique that off sets their balance both physically and mentally. Although done properly can be highly effective but if someone who saw it on YouTube tries it, can be extremely harmful. You may not know if they slept on their arm weird that night and it has been tense all day. Just got a cast removed from their arm. Have extremely painful arthritis in the wrist and hand.

These little questions that go unnoticed by the audience but truly separates the men from the boys in my opinion. It keeps the professionals working and the amateurs in trouble or worse yet, sued.

Finally, in my humble opinion, out of all the inductions and hypnosis sessions I have done I find 4 out of 5 times when you tell someone to sleep and they “drop” the audience is far more impressed with the least amount of physical contact to that person. To have control over them without touching them, that is magical!

If you do want to learn more about hypnosis a few sites worth checking out are:
Head Hacking
Street Hypnosis

Leave a Reply

